Publications & News  »  News

New East District president and board members installed

Monday, August 17, 2009

LCC President Robert Bugbee installs Rev. Paul Zabel is East District president

CLIFFORD, Ontario – On the beautiful, warm Sunday evening of August 16, 2009, the sanctuary of St. John’s Lutheran Church filled with friends, relatives and fellow members of area Lutheran churches as well as more than 30 clergy from near and far. They gathered for the installation of the Rev. Paul Zabel as president of Lutheran Church–Canada’s East District. The new president was elected at the May convention of the East District. He is the 16th president of the district, the fourth since the formation of Lutheran Church–Canada in 1988. He had served as pastor of St. John’s for 26 years.

The dynamic guest preacher, Rev. Robert Bugbee, president of Lutheran Church–Canada delivered the message "Come to Help this Vine!!" based on Psalm 80:14-15. Following the thought provoking sermon, President Bugbee performed the Rite of Installation and installed Rev. Zabel.

President Zabel then installed the officers of the Board of Directors: Rev. David Bode, first vice-president; Rev. Ronald Mohr, second vice-president; Reginald Tiegs, secretary; Ray Taylor, treasurer; and Lois Griffin, Rev. Warren Hamp, Dr. Naomi Klages, Paul Otterman, and Paul Schultz as directors.

The choir, members of the Night of Music choir, from congregations in Desboro, Hanover, Mount Forest and Clifford, praised God through anthems such as "Walk With the Lord' and "Go Now in Peace." The organist and choir director was Judy Zabel; Dwayne Hachman played the organ for the choir along with pianist, Marya Pinder from Clifford.

Following the service, everyone joined for fellowship and a lunch served by the Ladies of St. John's. The offering received will remain at St. John's to assist in spreading God's Word.

Ruth Koeslag, St. John’s Lutheran Church, Clifford, Ont.
Photo by Chris Bruer

Printer Friendly Version

Return Home Contact Us