Publications & News  »  News

LCC president will not accept nomination

Friday, October 12, 2007

After serving as Lutheran Church–Canada’s president for four terms, Rev. Dr. Ralph Mayan announced he will not accept nomination to another term and will step down in September 2008 following the election of a new president at the church’s convention in June.

Dr. Mayan, who is 63, is LCC’s second president since its founding in 1988. In addition to his responsibilities at LCC, the president also served nine years as chairman of the International Lutheran Council, a 34-member association of worldwide confessional Lutheran church bodies.

During his time as president, Lutheran Church–Canada began finding its own identity within worldwide Lutheranism and the Canadian church-at-large. Since 1996 LCC has adopted a new streamlined organizational structure and constitution; established and developed mission work in Nicaragua, Honduras, Costa Rica and Thailand; formed Lutheran Foundation Canada and began an active recruitment initiative for church workers. A further refinement of LCC bylaws regarding reconciliation and adjudication will come before the 2008 convention next June in Winnipeg.

In January, the president will participate in the founding of Iglesia Lutherana Sinode de Nicaragua, a Lutheran church body formed from LCC’s mission outreach. At ceremonies in 2002 and 2005 Dr. Mayan ordained 20 pastors and commissioned 33 deaconesses in Nicaragua who were graduates of an LCC theological education program.

Dr. Mayan was also involved in the selection of new presidents for each of LCC’s institutions of higher education: Concordia Lutheran Theological Seminary, St. Catharines; Concordia Lutheran Seminary, Edmonton; and Concordia University College of Alberta.

Prior to his 1996 election, Dr. Mayan served Trinity Lutheran Church in Richmond, B.C. (1978-96) and Zion, Yorkton, Sask/St. Paul, Springside, Sask. (1971-78). He was also a vice-president of the church body.

Lutheran Church–Canada was founded in 1988 by Canadian congregations of the St. Louis-based The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod. With more than 325 congregations from Nova Scotia to Vancouver Island, it is the second largest Lutheran church body in Canada.

Printer Friendly Version

Return Home Contact Us